top of page

Meadow Maker Lab

Today we got to meet in the Meadow Maker Lab with guides Melissa, Casey, Nate, and Jessica. We started our day building scribble machines with access to a variety of materials: motor, wire, 9v and 3v batteries, alligator clips, tape, berry basket, writing utensils,more tape, twist ties, "broccoli" bands, balloons, LEDs, binder clips, clothes pins and white butcher paper.

I had the benefit of having already made a scribble bot a few times before - and just last week. However, I decided that before I built anything, I needed to test my battery connection to my motor. I spent the entire time trouble-shooting my connection. I tried alligator clips with the 9v and the motor = nope. I tried alligator clips with the 3v and the motor = nope. I tried stripping wire and attaching to the 9v and the motor = nope. I tried stripped wire attached to the 3v and motor = nope. Finally, I decided that maybe the motor does not work - so I tested the 3v battery with a new motor that already had wires attached = success!! However, since I spent so much of my time "getting it to work" I lost steam on wanting to iterate the design of the scribble bot; I was happy to have it make movement -- at -- all.


Melissa encouraged us to ask for a ziplock filled with items families send in.  The form I sent home looks like this: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzCk2uP0v4nfX1lfMW5MUEl4MzQ/view?usp=sharing

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page